Zebraheard

Helping entrepreneurs turn ideas into a business


SURPRISES 

 I hear that most performers are nervous before going on stage. Although not a performer in the strictest definition of the word I always become a little nervous when I first meet my prospective entrepreneur client. 

The allure of entrepreneurs is the optimism that they possess. Never once as a business coach have I heard, “This is a terrible idea and I don’t think it will work.” The very nature of entrepreneurs lends itself to the most optimistic among us. 

The ideas that I have heard vary from typical business ideas, such as, dry cleaners, or pet items, to cars that are also sail boats, organic food for hamsters, to psychic workshops. Who knows…maybe? 

Experience has shown me that there are certain fundamentals, or processes anyone starting a business needs to understand and go through. Those capable and are willing to execute these fundamentals will increase their chance of success. 

In tomorrow’s blog I will discuss what I think is the top challenge facing today’s entrepreneur. 

 What do you think it is? 

Surprises are fun!

March 31, 2010 - Posted by | Entrepreneur | , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I’m going to answer this as the biggest challenge facing the new entrepreneur. It is too much hype. Real entrepreneurs dive into what they want to do and ask hard questions vs. read what is written by reporters. Just like reading ancient manuscripts…don’t read a translation of a translation. If at all possible, learn the language and read it in the original language. Immerse yourself.

    Comment by Donato Diorio | March 31, 2010 | Reply

    • Donato,

      Thanks for the comment I appreciate your thoughts on this.

      Brenda

      Comment by Brenda Collins | April 1, 2010 | Reply

  2. Great insight Brenda. With only two blogs you’ve got me hooked. I’m going to tweet the 2nd blog. 🙂 Thanks for the suspense BTW… 😉

    Rob

    Comment by RP Tellone | April 1, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks Rob! Appreciate your time and comment.

      Comment by Brenda Collins | April 1, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

